Don’t Tell the Groom

Firstly, I have to say a massive thank you to everyone who read and commented on my first book review! Hopefully some of you checked out ‘Best of Times’ by Penny Vincenzi from my first review. The book I’m reviewing today is called ‘Don’t Tell the Groom’ by Anna Bell. I really enjoyed this book, it’s a good girly read. I can’t really tell you much about it, sadly, for fear I will ruin the surprise in the story but if you want a little sneak peak at the twist, check out my vlog (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg). I bought it when I was on holiday (my parents banned me from bringing actual books on holiday because one year I took thirteen and I didn’t have room in my case for clothes) so it’s on my Kindle, therefore I can’t show you a hardcopy on my vlog, but here’s what I thought of it!

The blurb reads: ‘Will Penny be able to keep her secret long enough to say ‘I do’?’

I give it 3/5 for how put-down-able it was. It’s a fun story, but I wouldn’t say a gripping one. It’s a classic girly book, but with a nice twist in the usual story line that keeps you wanting to find out how it all ends.

This book gets 4/5 for characters. The main character, Penny, is a really fun one to read. I loved that Bell has made her more complicated than your average girly book character, and it made me connect much more. Her fiancé, Mark, sounds really yummy too, which always helps.

I give it 4/5 for originality. The book tricks you into thinking it is yet another rom-com read, but actually the story behind the comedy is really meaningful! I love that Bell has tried something really new with the characters and their problems.

Overall, I give ‘Don’t Tell the Groom’ by Anna Bell 4/5. It was a really fun book with more to it than meets the eye. Definitely a must read for the fellow fans of romance comedy!

My next review will be ‘Billy And Me’ by Giovanna Fletcher. Remember to check out my YouTube channel for my video reviews of the books too at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

Leave a Reply

