You’re The One That I Want

This book, ‘You’re The One That I Want’ by Giovanna Fletcher is the quick rom-com I fitted in half way through Gideon Mack. I know, I read a book when I was still reading another (I bow my head in shame). And great news! I really enjoyed this Giovanna book! I was so worried that I would feel the same about this one as I did with Billy and Me (see previous review) but I loved it. Also, it’s so romantic. Like… so romantic. But also, uh oh! Drama! I recommend this book to those girly girls who love a cheesy read, but also for those who like rom-coms that have a twist. This is a really sweet and endearing book and I love Giovanna’s spin on the classic girl and two guy love triangle.

The blurb reads: Maddy, dressed in white, stands at the back of the church. At the end of the aisle is Rob- the man she’s about to marry. Next to Rob is Ben- best man and the best friend any two people had. And that’s the problem. Because if it wasn’t Rob waiting for her at the altar- there’s a strong chance it would be Ben.

I give this book 3/5 for how put-down-able it was. The story moves quickly, starting with the three friends aged nine, all the way through to their mid twenties. I love this in books because I feel like I can really get to know the character, and I actually know what happens to them in the end (isn’t that the worst part of finishing a book? You just want to skip forward ten years and find out where all the characters are now. Thank Goodness J K Rowling did the ’19 years later’ part in Harry Potter Seven, or I think I would have cried).

I’ve given this book 3/5 for characters, too. I really like the three characters in the book (although, Maddy can be quite a pain occasionally… Why is she complaining? She gets to choose between two amazing and handsome guys!) and they all have their own little quirks that make them fun to read. There is definitely a Team Jacob/Edward situation in this book… Rob or Ben? I’d choose Rob, personally, but feel free to comment and let me know if I’ve chosen wrong!

I give the book 4/5 for originality. I don’t want to spoil it, but it ends unexpectedly, which makes it very refreshing for a rom-com. Also, the characters are unlike most rom-com ones in that they all have their flaws. There is no perfect guy and less perfect guy, they both have their pros and cons which is very unlike the romantic genre. Usually there is one evil and one perfect guy and it’s obvious who the girl will pick.

Overall, I give You’re The One That I Want 3/5. Much better than Gi’s last book (please, Giovanna, if you happen across this blog, just read this review and give Billy and Me a miss…). It is the perfect book for you hopeless romantics (totally me) to read, but also for those who don’t like the typical rom-com and want something with a bit more of a story.

Thank you for reading! My next blog will be on one of my top 5 favourite books EVER (which I’m currently reading for the second time) ‘The Girl Who Saved The King Of Sweden’ (not a rom-com in the slightest). Check out my vlog for my review at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

Leave a Reply

