The Girl Who Saved The King Of Sweden

This is one of my favourite books and so I feel we must all just take a moment to appreciate how long this review took. I wanted to do this amazing book by Jonas Jonasson justice, as it truly is incredible. ‘The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden’ (or TGESTKOS) as I’ll shorten it to, is the second hilariously quirky book written by Jonasson (the first was ‘The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared’ which I will review another time).

The blurb reads: Nombeko Mayeki is on the run from the world’s most ruthless secret service- with three Chinese sisters, twins who are officially one person and an elderly potato farmer. Oh, and the fate of the King of Sweden- and the world- rests on her shoulders.

I give this book 5/5 for how put-down-able it was. 5/5! That’s saying something. The story of this book is so hopelessly brilliant that it would be incredibly easy to read in one sitting (I read it in two, the first time round). I’ve read this book twice now and have no intentions of this being the last time.

I give the book 5/5 for characters. The characters in this book, as you can see from the blurb, vary greatly. And they’re all wonderful. From Nombeko herself, who you instantly fall in love with, all the way through to the King of Sweden who is spectacularly relaxed about his fate.

This book gets 5/5 for originality. Once you’ve read it, you’ll understand why it gets this high score. I love a quirky book and this is one hell of a quirky book. There are times when you’re reading it that you find yourself wondering how the hell Jonasson manages to tell such a weird story without the reader questioning it’s possibility for a second. Hint, by the way, I wished very much that it had been a true one.

TGESTKOS gets 5/5 over all. There is no way that this book would get anything but full marks on my review. It is 100% brilliant. I really do recommend it to anyone, as it doesn’t have a specific genre (is quirky a genre?).

Thank you for reading, I hope you all buy this wonderful book and devour it as quickly as I did. My next review will be ‘The Five People You Meet In Heaven’ by Mitch Albom and check out my YouTube channel for my vlogs at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

One thought on “The Girl Who Saved The King Of Sweden

Leave a Reply

