The Five People You Meet In Heaven

Let us just take a moment to celebrate the fact that I have found ANOTHER amazing book! Two blogs in a row… amazing. This book is beautiful. ‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven’ by Mitch Albom is truly amazing. I read this in a day and a half (it’s quite short) and I never wanted it to end. As if I haven’t already made it clear that I quite like this book, I will let you into the secret that this was the third book in which I have ever been moved to tears. Please, for those of you who read that and thought it sounded incredibly depressing, DO NOT let the blurb put you off. The story is far more enchanting, and the blurb really lets it down!

The blurb reads: Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a traffic accident kills him as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakens in the afterlife, where he learns that Heaven is not a destination, but an answer.

I give this book 5/5 for how-put-down-able it was. Like I said, the book took me all of a few hours to read because once I opened the front page (or clicked the front page… I had to read this on my Kindle because I was on holiday. See previous blogs to know why I am banned from taking actual books) I was hooked. The story is mesmerising.

‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven’ gets 5/5 for characters. At first, you think you won’t warm to Eddie, the main character, but after the first person he meets in Heaven, you completely fall for him. Albom has written Eddie so well because he’s supposedly a grumpy old man (everyone has had enough of those, in my opinion) but there are so many layers to him that you grow to love him. The other characters are also really lovely.

This book gets 5/5 for originality. The story is so new and refreshing! It’s not often that after the first chapter of a book the main character dies (no comment, George Martin…) and the story is based on what happens after. There is a similar link to Lovely Bones in that Eddie is in Heaven, and we learn about it by reading further into his life, but there are also little snippets of what he left behind on Earth. Wonderful.

I give The Five People You Meet In Heaven 5/5 overall. It was incredibly moving and sweetly funny when it needed to be. I struggled to write this blog because I don’t want to give away too much, but if you would like a new type of story that includes wars, love, family feuds and money (basically most genres) then this is the book for you. (ps. a little spoiler for those of you who read it, the scene I cried in was the final person Eddie meets, when that certain person talks about saving him.  Wink, wink, nudge, nudge, say no more, say no more).

Thank you for reading my blog and keep checking back here for new updates! The next book I will be reviewing is ‘Don’t Tell The Boss’, the second book in the series by Anna Bell (Don’t Tell The Groom was one of my first blogs on this website!). My vlog is long overdue a new video but I shall I be doing that this weekend… I hope. Check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

2 thoughts on “The Five People You Meet In Heaven

  1. I absolutely adore Mitch Albom! I’ve read Tuesdays with Morrie and I cried so much!!! I haven’t read this though but the movie was amazing!!!!!!!!! so I’m sure the book is too. I’m excited to get my hands on this one. Great review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

