Always The Bridesmaid

Hello fellow book lovers! I am so sorry I haven’t put up a blog since Easter… I wish I had a better excuse than I was busy hanging out with friends at UNI, but I don’t. This blog is about ‘Always The Bridesmaid’ by Lindsey Kelk (yes, my fave rom-com author). I wouldn’t say this book is one of her best, the ‘I Heart’ series always coming first for me, but it’s still a light and entertaining read- the perfect book for a summer holiday!

The blurb reads: Everyone loves a bridesmaid, except Maddie, who’s perpetually asked to be one. Everyone loves a wedding, except Maddie’s best friend, who’s getting divorced and everyone loves the way Maddie’s happy behind the scenes, except Maddie herself.

I give this book 2/5 for how put-down-able it was. Although the story is fun to read, it is not particularly exciting. Unlike Kelk’s other books which have the non-stop drama feel to them, Always The Bridesmaid seems to miss this crucial ingredient.

Always The Bridesmaid gets 3/5 for characters. Usually so descriptive about her characters, Kelk seems to have dropped the ball on Maddie. If you’ve read the I Heart series or the Tess Brookes books, you’ll know that by the last page you feel as if you’ve made a real life friend with the main character (and have possibly fallen a little- or a lot- in love with the leading man). Maddie doesn’t seem to have much depth to her and neither do her friends and family. I do love the links with other characters in other Kelk books though, see if you can spot them!

I give this book 3/5 for originality. At the end of the day, it is another wedding planner falling in love whilst planning a wedding story but Kelk has managed to drop in the odd twist! The leading man is not what you expect and it doesn’t end with some cheesy romantic gesture, making us all hope that there will be a sequel.

Overall, Always The Bridesmaid gets 3/5. Compared to Kelk’s other books, Always The Bridesmaid seems a slight disappointment (sorry Lindsey!) and you find yourself wanting to know more information about the characters for some depth nearly the whole way through. I would still recommend the book to any Kelk fans and rom-com readers as Kelk has added her usual hilarious situations and warm fuzzy ending.

Thank you for reading and I’m sorry again for the long wait. Expect tonnes of reviews in the next few months! My next review will be ‘The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night Time’. Check out my YouTube channel for my vlogs at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

One thought on “Always The Bridesmaid

Leave a Reply

