The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Hello fellow book-lovers! The book I will be reviewing in this blog is Mark Haddon’s ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’. For those of you who have noticed my reading pattern slipping back into romantic-comedies, don’t worry! This book is nothing like that genre at all. Most people have heard of this book, myself included, but don’t actually know anything about it (some people may have also seen the show, which I am curious about now having read the book, feel free to buy me a ticket if you fancy!).

The blurb reads: This is a murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Boone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings.

I give this book 3/5 for how put-down-able it was. The story is not particularly complicated or fast paced, but somehow you find yourself wanting to just read one more page all of the time.

I give The Curious Incident 4/5 for characters. Christopher has Asperger’s and, as someone who has little experience with this, I found it fascinating to see how his brain works alongside normal day life. The diagrams and writing style throughout the book bring a whole new enlightenment to those of us who know very little about the struggles this problem can cause, not only for the person with it, but also their families.

The Curious Incident gets 5/5 for originality. I have never read a book quite like this… Haddon has managed to make the reader understand, almost completely, how it feels to have Asperger’s and the struggles you are faced with. The story is complicated, not just in terms of Christopher’s view on the world, but also the lives his family leads around him which makes it an excellently original book.

Overall I give The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time 3/5. I really enjoyed reading something from a perspective I have never even come close to looking at. The story around Christopher is compelling and Haddon really manages to help those of us who know little about Asperger’s, the way people with it look at the world.

Thank you for reading! I am going on holiday this week so expect a stock of book reviews for when I get back. The next book I will be reviewing is ‘Sense and Sensibility’ by Jane Austen (I know, a romance book… but it’s super old so that doesn’t count, right?). Check out my YouTube channel at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

One thought on “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Leave a Reply

