Dream A Little Dream

Hello again! Once again this is a review of a book I read whilst lounging around on holiday. ‘Dream A Little Dream’ is (gasp) another Giovanna Fletcher book, but this time I can say… I loved it! Unlike her other two books which, I hate to admit, I found really quite disappointing, Dream A Little Dream is lovely. It’s some more girly trash (we all love it) but the story is surprisingly down to earth and real. I’d suggest this book to any newbies to rom-com reads!

The blurb reads: When Sarah starts dreaming about a handsome stranger, she begins to look forward to falling asleep every night. Reality isn’t nearly as exciting. That is until her dream-stranger makes an unexpected real-life appearance, leaving Sarah questioning everything she thought she wanted.

I give Dream A Little Dream 4/5 for how put-down-able it was. The story is continuously interesting and it twists and turns gently, but well, in ways you wouldn’t expect. I found myself wanting to read more about Sarah and group of friends.

Dream A Little Dream gets 5/5 for characters. I was able to relate to Sarah very well and therefore found the book a pleasure to read. Her friends are fun to read, especially as they’re experiencing those real life problems that we all do, and the male lead (sigh) is, as usual, utterly charming.  I wanted to mention now, actually, is it just me who has noticed that in most romantic comedy books with a female lead, the mother is an absoulte pain? Maybe it’s a reflection of the authors feelings… or is it tradition of female lead books?

I give this book 3/5 for originality. The idea that Fletcher has used, having every chapter start with a dream, is something new to me that I very much enjoyed. Obviously, it’s clear from about half way through what the outcome of the story will be romantically, but the twists and turns Fletcher takes to get there are fun and keep you on your toes.

Overall, Dream A Little Dream gets 4/5. I really did enjoy this book, and am so glad I can finally say that about Giovanna Fletcher’s writing. The story is real enough to connect to, but still has the odd twist that has you cackling with laughter (on your own by the pool  in my holiday case).

Thank you for reading and keep looking here for my next blog which will be Half Of A Yellow Sun (I kept forgetting to write up the blog for that book, so it’s on its way!). Remember to check out my YouTube channel at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg/videos

Leave a Reply

