Inkheart

‘Inkheart’ by Cornelia Funke is one of my absolute favourite book series so I hope this blog does it justice. It’s apparently written for 8-12 year olds but this is so not true that it took me a while to believe it! The series is everything you could want if you a) love reading, which I assume you do since you’re reading this, b) like a bit of light fantasy set in a medieval Europe kind of place and c) like a good book. The story is split between three books, but this is just the review for the first one. The idea of the book is that stories can come to life… is anything more perfect for a book lover? How many of us have wished that a character or story would jump off the page and appear in our special reading room? To make this series even better (which I wouldn’t have said was possible) Funke starts each new chapter with a quote from other similar stories. You read quotes about reading in a book about reading. Amazing. These books are honestly fantastic and I recommend them to everyone.

The blurb reads- Meggie loves stories, but her father, Mo, hasn’t read aloud to her since her mother mysteriously disappeared. When a stranger knocks at their door, Mo is forced to reveal an extraordinary secret- as he reads aloud, words come alive, and dangerous characters step out of the pages.

I give this book 4/5 for how put-down-able it was. The story is gripping throughout and there is never a dull moment. Just when you think that the characters may get out of the dangerous situation they end up almost at the start of the book, something else happens which leaves you wanting to know more. The only slight downside is that the book can get slightly repetitive because of the constant back and forth with the situation that the characters end up in (no spoilers!).

I give ‘Inkheart’ 5/5 for characters. Meggie is the primary character and as a fellow book lover, I latched onto her immediately. Her father, Mo, just sounds like such a nice guy and then there’s Dustfinger who I admit to having a rather large crush on (I seem to like the are-they-good-are-they-bad characters with troubled souls… I always fancied Javert in Les Miserables). Elinor, however, is my spirit animal. She is Meggie’s great aunt and loves books like they are her children, which I can totally connect to.

This book gets 5/5 for originality. I’ve never read such a simple idea written in such an exciting way. The idea that people come out of the books is fascinating, and the story that Funke writes around it is enchanting and truly magical.

Overall, ‘Inkheart’ gets 4/5. I wanted to give it a 5/5 but felt that because it can get a tiny bit repetitive (this doesn’t happen in the other two books) that I had to knock it slightly. The book is magical and the other two that follow, even more so. I suggest this book to everyone, especially those who like some light fantasy and an exciting read!

Thank you for reading and please continue to check back here for new blogs now I’ve updated it all and made it look so pretty (a big thank you to Tegan http://www.blogmebeautifulteg.wordpress.com for this!). The next books I will be reviewing are the first three Harry Potter books, ‘The Philosopher’s Stone’, ‘The Chamber Of Secrets’ and ‘The Prisoner Of Azkaban’ (yes, I have gone from Rom Com to a slightly youth fantasy reading spree…) which I’m sure most of you have heard of, if not read yourself. Remember to check my YouTube channel, which I’m in the process of updating, for my vlogs at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUVbkvW7oss6mwjckRTDiLg

Leave a Reply

