Inkspell

I’ve left such a long gap again, I am the worst. Anyway, hello again and welcome to my blog. Reading this book took me so long because of Freshers week and reading all my coursework, not because it’s too long or rubbish. I know that I said I wouldn’t review a series of books in order, but I have. After Inkheart I couldn’t wait to read Inkspell! Like the first, this book is so magical and sucks you into its enchanting world from page one. Unfortunately, it’s not one of those books that you can pick up having not read the first one (you would be SO lost if you started the series with the second book…) so I recommend reading the whole series. Such a commitment but very much worth it.

The blurb reads: Although a year has passed, not a day goes by without Meggie thinking of INKHEART, the book whose characters became real. But for Dustfinger, the fire-eater brought into being from words, the need to return to the tale has become desperate. When he finds a crooked storyteller with the ability to read him back, Dustfinger leaves behind his young apprentice Farid and plunges into the medieval world of his past. Distraught, Farid goes in search of Meggie, and before long, both are caught inside the book, too. But the story is threatening to evolve in ways neither of them could ever have imagined.

I give Inkspell 3/5 for how put-down-able it was. Because it’s a sequel, it’s incredibly exciting in parts (that moment when you come across a character from a previous story and it’s like “Ah, hello old friend”…) but it is quite a lot longer than the first and the story has the odd moment where it drags out. There are a few chapters where it seems like the characters are just waiting for something to happen and I began to feel like putting the book down until they got a move on.

Inkspell gets 5/5 for characters. How can it not? Dustfinger, Fenoglio and Mo… amazing  characters that you really do wish you could hang out with once you close the book. There are consistent characters from the first book, but Funke also introduces a few new ones, mainly baddies, which adds a whole new level of excitement to the story.

I give Inkspell 5/5 for originality. Inkheart was one of the most original ideas I had ever read, but somehow the second one is even more so! I love the idea during the book of Fenoglio writing the story as he’s actually in it. How many times do we wish we can alter the life we’re living as we go? “I shouldn’t have said that to him… Oh yes, I’ll just rewrite what just happened.”

Inkspell gets 4/5 overall. I would have given it a full score, but the odd chapter where there was a lot of waiting really did knock it slightly for me. I love suspense, I love people being captured and waiting for their rescue, but I don’t need to feel like I’m actually in that prison cell for three weeks waiting with them do I?

Thank you for reading my reviews (as always) and comment below with anything you want to argue or agree with! I would really recommend Inkheart and Inkspell (and Inkdeath which is the last one, but I won’t review that for a while I swear!) for mid-teen to early adult reading. The next book I will be reviewing is Mindy Kaling’s ‘Why Not Me?’ which I’ve just started and is already splitting my sides!

Leave a Reply

