Northanger Abbey

Hello all! Sorry there has, once again, been a massive gap in my writing. University swallowed me whole again! And I know that I was supposed to be writing this one on The Age of Magic but… well, it’s a load of pretentious nonsense so far. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love a good spiritual and moral story, but The Age Of Magic (as far as I’ve read) seems like nothing but a I’m-a-fancy-thoughtful-book that is actually not that thoughtful or fancy. I am still reading it, one page at a time, but don’t expect a book review any time soon (sorry). This review is on another Jane Austen, this time Northanger Abbey. I loved this book! Of the three Jane Austen’s I’ve read, this has been the best so far.

The blurb reads: Northanger Abbey tells the story of a young girl, Catharine Morland, who leaves her sheltered, rural home to ended the busy, sophisticated world of Bath in the late 1790s.

I give this book 4/5 for how put-down-able it was. I loved the story, it’s charming nature and consistent satirical wit that Austen manages so well. The story is fun and interesting and it’s a really good read.

I give the book 4/5 for characters. Catharine is lovely and Austen has written her with the usual satirical edge that means places Catharine in hilarious situations for the time, in order for Austen to show the reader how ridiculous society for women really was. The leading man, Mr Tinley, I wasn’t so sure about. He seems to rip into Catharine quite a lot… but that may just be me not understanding the wit behind Austen style writing. 

Northanger Abbey gets 3/5 for originality. Catharine is quite like the other naive, young girls that Austen writes about in her books, but this time her character develops as the plot goes on (which does make a nice change from some of the other girls who you really just want to slap around the face most of the time…). There was something quite Jane Eyre-ish about this book, I found, with the slightly thriller and mysterious edge. As a hater of Jane Eyre I would highly recommend this book as a replacement! 

Over all, Northanger Abbey gets 4/5. I loved the style of writing and I actually found it quite easy to understand! Sense and Sensibility took some careful studying every now and then when I realised I’d lost track of what the hell was going on… But Northanger Abbey is not only shorter, it’s also written in a more understanding style.

Thank you for reading my review, make sure to check out the links to my other reviews at the bottom of the page! My next review will be on a series of books which are easier to group together than to write individually, written by Lindsey Kelk, called About A Girl, What A Girl Wants and A Girls Best Friend (the latter of which arrived in the post today and I am oh so excited to read!).

Leave a Reply

