Half of a Yellow Sun

This book is something else… I finished it last week and I wish I could start all over again. It took me nearly a year to read the first half (it’s a pretty heavy premise and I was never in the mood when I was studying at uni) but I read the second half in about three days  because I got so sucked into the story. It’s absolutely amazing and a complete eye opener. Well done Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (I know, what a name!) 

The blurb reads: The novel takes place in Nigeria prior to and during the Nigerian Civil War (1967–70). The effect of the war is shown through the dynamic relationships of five people’s lives including twin daughters of an influential businessman, a professor, a British citizen, and a houseboy. After Biafra’s declaration of secession, the lives of the main characters drastically changed and were torn apart by the brutality of the civil war and decisions in their personal lives.

This book gets 5/5 for how put-down-able it was. Although I had to keep putting it down while I was studying (I won’t lie, I read a lot of trash in between) once I got into the story I couldn’t stop! The plot, the characters, everything is so amazingly moving and emotional. 

I give Half of a Yellow Sun 5/5 for characters. The story takes you through the lives of three or four main characters, each completely different. I loved how we get to know the characters, especially later on in the book when their lives change so dramatically. Even if you don’t like a character (hint, I wasn’t a fan of Kainene) you are so attached by the end of the book that you just want them all to be happy. 

I give this book 5/5 for originality. I never knew there even was a war in Nigeria in the late sixties, so I’m really glad that I got to learn more about it and understand the terrible conflict and it’s consequences. Because it’s based on a few true stories, it’s not hard to view it as one of the most original and moving stories I’ve ever read.

Overall, I give this book 5/5. It’s incredibly moving, influential and important. What moved me most was when I had finished reading the book I saw some images (on the last few pages) of real people who suffered through the war and it really shocked me. It is easy to imagine what an author wants you to, but much harder to accept that these events really occurred in the world so recently and still do today.

Wonderful book. A must read. 

The next book I will be reviewing is The Girl on the Train, which I am currently getting sucked into. Thank you for reading, as always!

3 thoughts on “Half of a Yellow Sun

Leave a Reply

