The Girl On The Train

Imagine you’ve just finished your 10,000 word dissertation and handed it in. You’ve been out with friends to celebrate and you’ve got work at a quiet museum all day for seven hours, plus the forty minute train journey either side. You have a new book on your Kindle which you start to read. You read some on the train, little bits here and there at work in quiet moments, some at lunch, more little bits in the afternoon, a big chunk on the train back, a little more when you get home… Then your kindle tells you you’re 100% of the way through the book. What? You can’t be, you only started it this morning! Yes, it was a great story and yes you got to the point of being sucked in where you raced through pages so fast that you had to re-read them. But you couldn’t possibly have read an ENTIRE book in one day, could you? Well, I did because this book was so brilliant.

The blurb reads: To everyone else in this carriage I must look normal; I’m doing exactly what they’re doing: commuting to work, making appointments, ticking things off lists. Just goes to show.

That’s all I’m going to give you because anything else would spoil it! (cue excited squeal)

This book gets 6/5 for how put-down-able it was. I know! An uncharted number! It’s pretty obvious that I was hooked from start to finish because it took me all of 5 hours 20 minutes to read (my Kindle told me so).

The characters in The Girl On The Train get 5/5 as well. The book takes you through the lives of three women and they’re all really complicated and brilliant. There’s not one moment in this book where you get tired of a character, nor the plot, because they’re all so fascinating!

I give this book 5/5 for originality. I don’t read much crime or thriller books (I’m a wuss, as I’ve probably previously mentioned… my imagination is too vivid that I can’t read a scary book without picturing the monster coming out in the dark at me that night) but this one has made me want to search as many similar ones as possible. I heard mixed things about this book because it came out at the same time as Gone Girl and people were saying it wasn’t as good. Well, having read both of them (Gone Girl review will be on here at some point too!) I can easily say that they are both equally brilliant and original. And yes, there is a similar ‘WHAAAAAT?’ moment in this book when you realise the twist as there was in Gone Girl.

Overall, this book easily gets 5/5 for just being so gripping and brilliant. Only thing I can recommend… don’t read it whilst slightly hungover in the morning because one of the characters is an alcoholic and you really won’t appreciate the constant drinking references when you can feel last nights’ mixed drinks in your tummy. My next book review will be… well, to be honest, I don’t know yet. I’ve devoured an entire book in a day and watched Beyonce’s Lemonade all within the space of the same week. I need a rest.

 

 

Leave a Reply

