Inkdeath

THE FINAL INKHEART BOOK. Well, it’s taken me long enough but I’ve finally re-read the whole INKHEART trilogy and here is my review of the final book. I have to say, I’m a sucker for the third of any series. I loved Shrek 3, Toy Story 3, the third of the I Heart series, the third Harry Potter… anyway, you get the point. Inkdeath is no exception to this and I feel it is by far the best of the three. 

The blurb reads: Ever since the extraordinary events of Inkspell, when the enchanted book Inkheart drew Meggie and her father, Mo, into its chapters, life in the Inkworld has been more tragic than magical.

This book gets 4/5 for how put-down-able it was. As I say, the story is one massive adventure and it’s very hard to put the book down and go back to normal life once you’ve started in the INKHEART world.

I give the characters 3/5. I wasn’t quite as invested in the characters of this book, as most of them were the baddies, and I felt like some of the characters were slightly forgotten (Dustfinger mainly which I thought was a huge shame because I had a bit of a crush on him). The story definitely got much darker in this book, and as I read in another review ‘seemed to have forgotten that the first book was written for children’. 

Originality for Inkdeath is obviously 5/5. I’ve never read such a story like in the three INKHEART books. I’m slightly jealous that I didn’t write them myself… Such an amazing idea!

Overall I give Inkdeath 4/5. As good, if not better, than the previous two books and certainly more captivating! Won’t give any spoilers but… I liked the ending.

Thank you for reading! My next book review will be An Utterly Impartial History of Britain by John O’ Farrell (A SERIOUSLY FUNNY READ) and I bring news that I might (might) be starting my vlog again. But we’ll see. 
PS. The photo for Inkdeath really didn’t want to attach so I’ve attached a cool tattoo that I saw online. Photo cred. unknown but I can find out if you really want!

Leave a Reply

