Just Haven’t Met You Yet

Welcome to There’s Always Time for a Book! This week I will be reviewing ‘Just Haven’t Met You Yet’ by Cate Woods. The first thing to say about this book is Do Not Be Deceived by the cover/title/blurb etc… It is a romantic-comedy type book, I won’t lie to you, but it’s not quite as cliche and sickly (a friend of mine’s description of rom-coms) as it may appear.

The blurb reads: Percy James has everything a girl could want: a comfy flat, a steady relationship and a truly lovely group of friends. Then she is approached by Eros Tech. Eros is ‘the future of love’ – an agency that brings together soulmates using phone data. Percy has been identified as a match for one of Eros’s super wealthy clients. The only problem is she already has a boyfriend . . . but what if this is *destiny*? Would you – could you – pass up a chance to meet your one true love?

Ugh, whoever wrote this blurb (sorry if that was you) literally picked the most typical rom-com descriptions for this story that they could. It’s much more than it seems and you should read it for yourself to see!

I give this book 4/5 for how put-down-able it was. I read this slaving away on the beach- cough, cough- and it is the perfect read for relaxing. It’s not like any other rom-com I’ve read because you actually don’t know what’s coming next, so it made it quite irresistible to read.

This book gets 4/5 for characters. To be fair, this could easily be 5/5 but I remembered characters like those from The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden and they narrowly miss that awesome… awesome-ness. The main character is called Percy, which is pretty cool, and everyone in it (male, yes) makes you want to have a little dance with cuteness.

I give this book 5/5 for originality. You see, this is why the blurb frustrates me so much, because it really does seem like just another contrived romantic nonsense book but it really isn’t! The story is so much more than it seems and I’ve never read anything like it. I loved the twists and turns throughout the story and definitely want there to be a Part II, which is always a good sign.

Overall, I give the book 4/5. It honestly is the best romantic-comedy book I’ve read (Lindsey Kelk, my Twitter and Instagram friend, I apologise) because it’s so different and you can’t predict a moment of it!

Thank you for reading! My next review will be The Case of the Howling Dog, a good ol’ crime classic. Please comment below or tweet me at @bex_whittaker to let me know what you thought about this review and the book.

Leave a Reply

